re-using, recycling, and redeeming old wood

#26 The Wood Working Shows

December 10, 11, 12

Renaissance Schaumburg
Hotel & Convention Center

Exploration & Discovery Halls
1551 North Thoreau Drive
Schaumburg, IL  60173

This is just a heads-up on something happening in my neck of the woods.  It is The Wood Working Shows coming to Chicago.  Maybe you would want to check it out.

I am making plans to attend this show.   The show is filled with new tools, gadgets and ideas.  Also,there are wood sales going on that are worth a look.  One part of the event I plan to enjoy are the on-going demonstrations.

Inlay: preciousonyx.xanga.com

Two that most interest me are the wood turning and the inlay sessions.  The wood turning goes on all day.  I have been amazed at the beauty of a sharp tool, sound wood, powerful machine and a good idea all combining to create a turned piece right before my eyes.

The inlay sessions are on a schedule, so if you want to see them go to the home page, click on “Education” and find the “Inlay” panel.  There you will find the schedule.  Hope you have a chance to

find your way to the show.

Before his downfall a man’s heart is proud, but humility comes before honor.  Proverbs 18:12

3 responses

  1. Look forward to reading further posts!

    November 9, 2010 at 6:49 am

    • Good morning. Glad to have you on board. I see furniture in your address. What kind of furniture are you making? Wood? Design? Do you pictures you could share here?

      Shalom,

      John

      November 9, 2010 at 7:04 am

  2. I make custom furniture, turn bowls and other things, and teach woodworking to youngsters.

    Right now I am working on a new design called a Chai-Boy. (my blog explains what that means)

    When glue or a finish is drying, I really enjoy turning. I recently hosted Lyle Jamieson at my home for a number of days so I got one of his boring bar systems, so as soon as finish up the next couple of commission pieces I will be working on making really thin walled hollow vessels.

    be well,
    yaakov….

    November 9, 2010 at 7:26 am

Leave a Reply

