re-using, recycling, and redeeming old wood

#35 Wood Carving: Egg heads – pilots, Santas, penguins, sailors

WWI pilot, 2″ basswood egg

One early carving medium which caught my attention and efforts was the basswood egg. Actually I went to the craft stores and bought a number of eggs which crafters use.

Nor’easter coming

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The paint work crafters do on them can be gorgeous, however, I learned quickly that craft store eggs are not ideal for wood carvings. Most of the eggs I found years ago, haven’t looked lately, were, as I discovered through painfully slow experience, turned out of birch or maple. That means they were hard, hard, and hard. I had seen someone carve an egg.

Black Father Christmas, 2″ basswood egg

 

 

I had looked through some books on egg carving and thought it would be enjoyable. After the first few eggs and hours and hours into the work, I began to wonder if it was worth it. The time it took to cut the maple or birch eggs was far greater than I had anticipated.

Ye ‘onorable Judge ‘is-self.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I found basswood eggs. What a difference. I have gone through an “egg” stage. For a while I was carving 100 to 200 a year.

The eggs shown here are a small sampling of what one can do with basswood eggs. Enjoy.

Penguin elf

WWI pilot, side view

Fireman Fred

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.”  Proverbs 3:5,6

Black Father Christmas, side view

Leave a Reply

