re-using, recycling, and redeeming old wood

#45 Wood Carving: Merry Christmas. Cool carvings at Calvin College and everywhere you look.

My family is getting skittish these days. They see me coming and they duck for cover or they sigh or they get out a brush. The reason is that a camera has become an added appendage, a fixed feature in my hand.

Mantel detail 1

West mantel - 2

West mantel – 1c

But before I explain, even though it is a few days late, let me say MERRY CHRISTMAS to each reader of this blog. The great thing for me is that even though the gifts have been given, the tree is already gone, the songs on the radio change, the fudge and cookies disappear, the true peace and joy of Christmas is still here. The birth of Jesus and its celebration is just the starting point for me. Anyway, I wish you peace, true SHALOM in this coming year.

East mantel – 1

East mantel – 1b

East mantel 1c

And now, back to the camera which will be a new appendage for this year. There is a reason for it, too. Everywhere you go, everywhere you look there are great uses of wood, eye-catching carvings, clever applications, interesting designs, stunning colors, textures, and patterns.  And so much of it worth sharing with friends.

Center east mantel - 1

Center east mantel - 1b

Center east mantel – 1c

My family had Christmas in Michigan this December. Both sides of the family met in the Grand Rapids area. My immediate family stayed in the “Prince Conference Center,” a place worth checking out.  There is a beautiful nature center to the north and east.  A short walk takes you to the beautiful grounds of Calvin College to the west across a cool over-the-road bridge.

Center west mantel – 1

Central west mantel – 2

Central west mantel – 1c

As you can also see by now, the wood work is great. I wandered through the lobbies and other spaces of the Conference Center enjoying the art work, the carving. There is much more great wood work on the college campus.  Perhaps I can share those with you in the future.  I hope you enjoy this work.  The artists name is Darrel Deruiter.  His shop is in Wyoming, MI.  Well done Darrel.

Deruiter Woodcrafts
1336 Burton St, SW
Wyoming, MI 49509-1466
(616) 243-7322

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!  Philippians 4:4

2 responses

  1. Wow, very cool fireplace! I love the interplay between wood and stone.

    December 28, 2010 at 9:21 am

    • Hi Mel, aren’t they great. I love the little details in each of the letters. After you study them a bit you see more and more.

      December 28, 2010 at 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

