re-using, recycling, and redeeming old wood

#60 Wood carving: Pelicans, whales and turtles, wood carving is everywhere.

Intarsia pelican

Beautiful wood work shows up everywhere.  One just needs to have an eye for it.  The pictures in this post were taken by one of my daughter’s while on a trip to Florida this winter.  I love the “rope work” frame around the pelican here.  Also, the artist has done a great job with the use of white to hold the piece together.

Right whale

Top view

Head shot of right whale 1

You have seen whales here before.  Always like to view carvings of whales.  This one is a “right” whale.  Whalers named it so because it was considered the right whale to hunt.  When struck with a harpoon, this whale would stay afloat so whalers had an easier time of processing it.

I like the overhead shot best.  The lines look clean.  I am not so thrilled with the head shot, the manufactured eye does not sit well in the head, from my perspective.  I would also like to see a rougher surface on the whale, they are not as smooth or clean looking as this carving presents.

Sea turtles

These two sea turtles make a great presentation.  Great negative space, nice movement created by the turn of their heads and the spacing of their bodies on the stand.  A pleasing presentation.  I think they may be Green Sea Turtles.  For my taste, however, I would like a little more detail on the rear flippers on each turtle.

What are you carving these days?  Have anything to share?  Would love to hear from you.

“Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.” Proverbs 16:18

6 responses

  1. Dave Bonnema

    These are cool! I especially like the pelican!

    February 21, 2011 at 10:57 pm

  2. I agree, Dave. I do not have the time or the tools for it, but Intarsia is something that also attracts my attention. Glad to see the work others can do. Thanks for checking it out.

    February 22, 2011 at 6:43 am

  3. Dave Bonnema

    At the very top of your website, you say thgat you “redeem wood.” I didn’t know wood sinned! :-D :-P

    February 22, 2011 at 10:49 am

  4. Dave, wood, and many other things for that matter, need to be redeemed. See definition below: re·deem/riˈdēm/Verb
    Compensate for the faults or bad aspects of (something): “a disappointing debate redeemed by an outstanding speech”.

    I find lots of wood with “faults” or “bad” spots which need to be worked with. So I could say, “A disappointing piece of wood was redeemed by an outstanding carving done on it.” Seems to fit, even without the sin. Claiming every square inch. ;)

    February 22, 2011 at 6:44 pm

  5. Joe

    The right whale carving is amazing ?
    Is it available for sale ?
    May I know the size of it ?
    Thank you

    May 23, 2016 at 4:06 am

    • Hi Joe,

      It is a beautiful whale. Unfortunately it is not one which I have done. Not sure about sales.

      May 23, 2016 at 6:18 am

Leave a Reply

