re-using, recycling, and redeeming old wood

#68 Other Wood: Wooden flower vase by Rick Klompmaker, Tulip shape

Flower vase by Rick Klompmaker

In post #67 I mentioned that I rediscovered a carving in my sister-in-laws collection. I also discovered the vases in this post.  My brother Rick has talent, an artistic flair and access to good tools and good wood.  I have enjoyed many of his boxes and his furniture.  The boxes I talked about in an earlier post, the furniture I will feature in a new post some day soon.  For now, enjoy the work here.

Opening like a tulip petal

Beauty in wood

All three of the boxes are made out of thin planks for white cedar.  Cedar is very light weight and allows for the shaping required here.  It also has a great grain which adds to the entire pleasing effect.

Protype two

Tulip-like petal sides

A difficult miter joint to keep true

Double delight

“The heart of the discerning acquires knowledge,
   for the ears of the wise seek it out.”  Proverbs 18:15

One response

  1. I like that design. Thanks for sharing that.
    yaakov….

    April 28, 2011 at 6:40 am

Leave a Reply

