re-using, recycling, and redeeming old wood

#75 Wood carving: Old Fashioned Face – Tom Wolfe style.

Old Fashioned Face – front view

I am not sure about you, if you are a wood carver, but I have to suspect you have at least two boxes in your house that are like mine.  The first box has to be filled with carving ideas, half finished carvings or carvings that are nearly there, but not quit completed.  Anyone have one of those?  Or perhaps it is three or four or more. I have several boxes, not sure how many.  Some contain carvings I will never get to or return to.  They are carvings done early on in my career.  I ran into a problem, got bored, or lost interest.  Always put aside with a promise of getting back to it some day.  Some will never be completed because the original idea was to simplistic or poorly conceived so they are not worth the time and energy to complete.  Others would require more effort and thinking than I have available to me at this point.

3/4 view

The carving above has made it out of the “nearly completed” box into the “to be painted.”  But, since I do not have the time to carve, let alone paint, in the month of July, it sits unfinished.

Old Fashioned Face 3

Old Fashioned Face right hand profile

Old Fashioned Face rear view

I like the flow of this face.  The large nose and over-sized cheeks catch attention.  I worked on the hair and beard,  trying to break them into large hair masses first and then into smaller “individual” hairs or hair groups.  I think paint will draw even more attention to the hair masses.

Final view

The piece is still not painted, so anyone wanting to buy this piece could request custom coloring.  With some flashing eyes, gold trim and rosy cheeks, this could be a stunning piece.  Contact me here or at http://www.klomp5@hotmail.com.

“The wise store up choice food and olive oil, but fools gulp theirs down.” Proverbs 21:20

Leave a Reply

