re-using, recycling, and redeeming old wood

81 Other carving: Stone indian, carving ideas

Always looking for carving ideas.  This photo is from “Mark’s Photo Blog” on WordPress.  It is also appearing because I am trying to use the newest twist in blog posting.  I am following Andy P’s instructions for quick posting.  Perhaps this will let me fly through posting a bit faster.  Although, for me, the real action is getting my carvings or the hand work of others on line.  But, as the title says, this one is about finding ideas and inspiration for another carving. 

Image

I do want to note what it is that I look for when a photo or other source catches my attention.  I am particularly struck by the eyes in this bust.  I have noticed in beginning carvers the universal problem of hesitancy to press the material, to push the carving details deeply.  The eyes here really stand out.  The carver has made space for the eyes and then gone deep in the groves under and over the eyes.  As a result, the skin and folds have strong shadows, giving the viewer the impression of a real face. 

One might also notice how the carver has treated the eyes differently.  Beginning carvers also need to overcome the tendency to make things symmetrical.  This carving helps us see the need for variety in a piece.  No human face is perfectly symmetrical.  Go ahead, look in the mirror.  Yours is lopsided too.  I like the different folds within the space provided for the eyes.  A good lesson for beginning carvers and reminder for those who have carved many pieces.

““There are three things that are too amazing for me, four that I do not understand:  the way of an eagle in the sky, the way of a snake on a rock, the way of a ship on the high seas, and the way of a man with a young woman.”  Proverbs 30: 18

3 responses

  1. Thanks Kevin for looking in on things. I notice you are connected to Oregon College of Art and Craft. Are you a professor there? What type of medium do you prefer to work in? Haven’t had time to explore the college site, your work on it? Shalom.

    March 5, 2012 at 4:58 pm

  2. I remember having eskimo soapstone carving in the house when I was a boy.
    yaakov….

    March 6, 2012 at 8:15 am

    • Good to have stuff laying around for kids to soak up. We always had lots of books, although many were in my parents native language – German. Couldn’t read those until, well perhaps not even now. But the German art work was fun.

      March 6, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Leave a Reply

