re-using, recycling, and redeeming old wood

82 Other wood recyled: Wood-Chip Sculptures by Sergei Bobkov

Wood carvers create lots of dust and wood chips.  What do you do with it all?  One year in my Junior High carving classes a student asked if they could collect the chips after every class to take home for their hamster cages.  We were happy to oblige.  Another carver I know takes his chips and throws them in his garden to loosen up the clay soil.  Obviously he has to think about the kinds of wood being carved to avoid toxic reaction with young plants.

Sergei Bobkov of Russia has come up with another way to use wood chips.  In fact, he creates the chips just so he can use them.  After looking at Sergei’s work you may want to try your hand.  Please feel free to give me a call.  I will sack up all the ones created in my basement for you.  Enjoy.

Wood-Chip Sculptures by Sergei Bobkov | Oddity Central – Collecting Oddities.

“By justice a king gives a country stability, but those who are greedy forbribes tear it down.”  Proverbs 29:4

4 responses

  1. Wow, the detail on Sergei’s pieces is amazing! What a creative use of resources!

    March 6, 2012 at 8:13 am

  2. That’s really cool!
    yaakov….

    March 6, 2012 at 8:28 am

  3. klompr

    It is amazing to see where the passion for wood and woodworking can lead.

    March 6, 2012 at 4:53 pm

  4. And I thought they were just chips. But I am thinking to myself, who wants to sort through wood chips to find stuff to work with? My first carving teachers always said that I should find the best wood and the best tools I could afford. I understand that truth far better now than I used to. I can see beginning carvers come with tools and wood I wouldn’t even give a second look. And I see myself the first times, thinking I had something. Now I make sure I compliment them and then later suggest or hand them better tools and wood. Sergei beats all. Wood chips, who would think.

    March 6, 2012 at 7:54 pm

Leave a Reply

