re-using, recycling, and redeeming old wood

97 carving ideas

Image

I am always looking for carving ideas.  Now that I almost always have an iPad with me it is easier to capture some of them quickly.  This photo hangs in a hallway in my Uncle Georg’s house in western Germany.  What caught my attention was the roof lines and the texture the artist shows us.  Having done many roofs, what I note is shapes and shadows.  Also, on the building to the right, my eye is caught by the strong line near the top denoting the final layer of thatch.  The question is then, how can that be replicated in wood.  Which tool works best, what will be the most efficient way to make those cuts.  For anyone who has not carved, part of the issue is the direction ones cut, up from the bottom of the roof or down from the top.  Experimental cuts need to be made to determine what happens to grain wood, how the grain reacts.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=aefd2a3be1&view=att&th=1410fc050ce5aba9&attid=0.0&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P804xOy40z7oL9Sw9w_Yg9e&sadet=1378949161007&sads=KuxtYepqPx8_W7FNsW89ksTkw7k

Sorry about the quality of this photo.  However, for my purposes, this is good enough.  What is appealing to me is the roof lines of the buildings, how they sit together, the shadows, and how the artist has created texture.  While the photo is fuzzy, the relationship between the buildings is strong enough to be appealing.  Hope you have some ideas to share.  Or, if you use some ideas from these pictures I would love to see them.

Shalom.

Comfort, comfort my people says your God.  Isaiah 40:1

Leave a Reply

